8 Levels of American Zen

Coyote Radio Tujunga

Coyote, a Mr. Mom from 1991 to 2011, was singing his son to sleep every afternoon in their Tujunga home from 2000 to 2004 performing on his Alvarez acoustic guitar. He was also rehearsing for the Coyote Radio television shows being produced by Adelphia and Roadrunner Cable Television, so we started recording these solo rehearsals and ended up with a collection of awesome performances by The Hippy Coyote.

These songs and others of the years 2002 to 2005 were featured in live television shows produced by Shaolin Pictures entitled Coyote Radio 1, Coyote Radio 2...Coyote Radio 9. Our camerapersons were Kung Fu students who volunteered to help make this series of a dozen television shows. All show featuring The Hippy Coyote performing these songs in a unique style were solo performances, wearing his leather cowboy hat, with a black background, without any talking between songs. No dialogue, mostly sitting down, with his cowboy hat shadowing his face like a Cowboy Zorro. With only a black background acoustic guitar and a couple of microphones, Coyote performed for the Coyote Radio TV series shows aired over Los Angeles cable networks.

There were a couple exceptions to these solo performances because his son, Rory O'Connor, just had to run up on stage and sing with dad from time to time. The last of the Coyote Radio series featured "The Coyote Clan," consisting of Daddy Coyote on acoustic guitar, Rory OConnor on snare drum wearing dad's cowboy hat with extra foam inside, and Caitlin O'Connor on flute, with all three singing rock songs written by Richard Del Connor, The Hippy Coyote.

In 2009, Coyote's 1972 Alvarez 12-string guitar was stolen. Coyote vowed to never play acoustic guitar in memory and honor of his lost guitar--his best friend since 1973. Even the punk rock songs of The Rich, and the Coyote In A Graveyard rock opera were written on that acoustic guitar.

Enjoy what will be the last album of acoustic guitar ever to be performed by The Hippy Coyote of American Zen.

1. All Around The World
2. Don't Push Me
3. In Dreams
4. Dear Mom
5. Don't Make Me Laugh
6. Black Of Night
7. Christ Killer
8. What Do You See?
9. In Line
10. Backseat Loe
11. Hurts To Know
12. The End The Horizon
13. Spirit Gun
14. Don't Forget



"I didn't add any basses to it. The FINGER SNAPS were recorded with the vocal. The little accent beat is the fingersnap bouncing off the echo wall. Pretty cool."

Coyote has finished recording the last flutes on the album. For the past month, Coyote, a.k.a. Richard Del Connor, or Buddha Zhen, has been MIXING down the album, LEVEL 4 = Kung Fu Cowboy PART 1.

This is the 4th LEVEL of Zen Buddhism and the 4th album by American Zen that details this spiritual journey.

Follow Coyote's travels at his current website, www.KungFuCowboy.com

He'll back here, after the album is done to record some music videos for this new album titled, KING SOLOMON'S TEMPLE.

Kung Fu Cowboy PART 1 will tell the story of King Solomon constructing his Temple in Jerusulem.

Coyote determination

"Great Salt Lake" solo flute video

"Great Salt Lake" in Jarrod's Garage

We shot all kinds of footage that day. I played drums, guitar, ukulele, and a solo song, "Bouree," which I still haven't seen or heard yet.

Click image below to visit YouTube.com
Coyote with Alvarez Acoustic Guitar

But I was having lots of fun, and as usual, I get all excited when I perform--so I asked if I could play another song, and here it is!

"GREAT SALT LAKE," recorded near Christmas, 2008, in Jarrod's garage.

I'll post "Bouree" that I performed solo also. I played the bass solos on flute and...sheesh, I want to see it. This is the Jethro Tull song that Ian Anderson recorded back in the sixties. That classic rock song, inspired my folk rock song, "Great Salt Lake," that is the first song on my LEVEL 2 = CHRIST KILLER album by American Zen. I changed it a little for my solo performance version.

Coyote Head LogoCoyote

Check out my podcasts at
for live songs and poetry...


New Stuff

Stupa Loga of Shaolin



© Copyright 1984 - 2013 shaolinMUSIC.com All rights reserved. ASCAP

Hosted by Shaolin Communications